How to renew SAIL Mediclaim Insurance Premium

sail

It is that time of the year when ex-employees of Steel Authority of India (SAIL) and its steel plants like Bhilai (BSP), Rourkela (RSP), Bokaro, Durgapur, Salem, etc; run around to renew their medical insurance premiums under the SAIL Mediclaim Scheme.

Ex-employees are usually under stress to get the mediclaim renewed for themselves and their spouses as they hardly get the renewal forms on time, by post. Over these years, we have seen that Insurance Companies and Third Party Administers (TPA) have not been very customer friendly but for the two years, the renewal form is available online on the SAIL website and there is also a provision to make the premium payment online through State Bank of India (SBI).

The online premium payment is a very easy and convenient option but since most of the ex-employees may not be very Internet savvy, I guess the best option would be for their children to pay it online. However the fully filled in renewal form and the receipt will have to be submitted in person / sent by post.

Steps to make online SAIL Mediclaim premium payment:

  1. Go to www.onlinesbi.com and click on the ‘State Bank Collect’ tab on the menu bar
  2. Next page, click the box ‘I have read and accepted the terms …’ and click on the Proceed button
  3. Next page – first select ‘National Capital Territory of Delhi’ from drop-down menu under ‘State of Corporate/Institution’ and then select ‘Industry’ under ‘Type of Corporate/Institution’ and then click the Go button
  4. Next page – select ‘Steel Authority of India Limited’ under Industry name and then click Submit
  5. Next page – select either ‘Mediclaim Self/ Mediclaim Spouse / Mediclaim Both’, from the drop-down menu, depending on your case
  6. Enter MIN (Medical Index Number): For ‘Mediclaim self’ or ‘Mediclaim both’,
    enter the MIN of Ex-employee. For option ‘spouse’ only, enter MIN of spouse
  7. On clicking ‘Submit’, page displays member details. Premium amount will be automatically displayed
  8. Enter all other details, as required and then click Submit to proceed to the payment screen where the payment options along with the applicable transaction charges are displayed
  9. You can make payment through Credit Card / Debit Card / ATM Card / Net Banking
  10. On successful payment, please print the e-receipt

Note: I have been using the online system to make the premium payment for my parents’ mediclaim ever since it was introduced. My dad worked in Bhilai Steel Plant for 42 years.

Click here to download the SAIL Mediclaim renewal form and other details for 2017-18. Last date for receipt of renewal form is May 15, 2017.

Last updated April 13, 2017

31 thoughts on “How to renew SAIL Mediclaim Insurance Premium

  1. There are lots of loopholes in between this internet e challen/payment etc. of SAIL mediclaim .In asansol its operated by most of the cybercafe , who charge a hefty sum for this filling of e challan or payment. which actually requires less than a minute. I tried all options in my laptop having an mts connection but every time the message ” please verify data and try again ” appears.
    but it opens in a single click in a cybercafe of particular who deals periodically in this type of business.
    something fishy i suspect else if there is any particular authorisation to any cybercafe or any branch to operate this system i am not sure.
    Whatever it is, it should be brought in attention to cyber crime department , i suppose.
    Thanking you.

  2. Thanks for your great service. I could complete everything without any hitch.

    K S Vijaya Raghavan
    Retd. DGM – Salem Steel Plant.

  3. Thanks for the sharing the information, please let me know the address for Bhilai Steel plant so i can post the documents.

      • Hi Anil. The information was worth very much. I have a query regarding the same but a bit more. My father’s insurance last date for renewal in E-Meditek was March 31st 2016, but I couldnt renew it by that date. Now, as it has changed to Raksha TPA. Will there be any problem in renewing the mediclaim. Kindly opine.

      • Good noon Sir,
        I just wanted to know if this is the address where i need to submit the form and receipt for renewnal of mediclaim in bhilai or is there any other office where i can submit it in person..
        Also, my father passed away this month and i need to renew only my mother’s mediclaim.. if u could please guide me through or provide a contact number of the office personnel whom i need to approach for the same.

        Thank you,
        Regards,
        Dr. Nivedita

      • You can also submit the form at Sector 5 Health Centre till April 30, 10 am to 4 pm. For any further clarifications, please contact Rajeev Mehrotra, AGM (Pers) -94079 82107 or B L Sahu – 94079 84024

  4. Hi Anilji, your article is very helpful for me considering that my father is no more and I have to complete the process behalf of my mother from the other side of the world. Please continue doing the good work!!!!!

  5. Thanks Anil for such an useful and detailed information. This will definitely make our life easier. I have two questions
    1. Do you know the mediclaim center for VISL, Bhadravathi plant? OR Anyway I could find that out?
    2. If you could help with the address for VISL, Bhadravathi steel plant as well, it would be very helpful.

    Thanks,
    Sandeep

  6. Hi Anil, You information is very helpful, I have one quick question, My father is out of country he has deposited renewal and got receipt but he facing some challenges to fill form and submit on time before April 31st so could you please let me know if he could submit form after April 31st.

    • Normally they don’t accept the form after the cut off date. But in this case as the renewal amount has already been remitted, probably they might. It’s best to check with the TPA or SAIL officials directly.

  7. My father is retired employee of SAIL , Bokaro. I was trying to renew the mediclaim policy but every time the message ” please verify data and try again ” appears.

    I also tried downloading SBI challan for cash deposit at branch but the SBI challan available have details “Power Jyoti Account No. 31955226331 at SBI, RSP Campus Branch, Rourkela. Branch, Code No. 12086.” mentioned.
    Should I use this challan to submit the amount Please suggest.

    • You can print out the computer generated challan (having a pre-printed State Bank Collect Reference No.) and use the same for making payment through cash, cheque, pay-order or demand draft at any of the SBI Branches

  8. I just wanted to know the address where i need to submit the form and receipt for renewnal of mediclaim in Bokaro . My father was an ex-employee of SAIL
    I need to renew only my mother’s mediclaim.. if u could please guide me through or provide an address whom i need to approach for the same.
    Thank you,
    Regards,
    Shiv Rajdev

    • I have uploaded the complete list of Resource Persons for different SAIL units and Steel Plants. Please check below the main article to know.

  9. Sir, your post was really helpful.
    My mother ll have gallstones surgery in few weeks. i wanted to know what is the limit of money that ll be covered?

  10. Please let me know the address of the nodal office of Bokaro Steel Plant to send my mediclaim documents.

  11. Hi Anil, How are you doing? I just wanted to ask you that it has been more than 11 days now since the cut off date of submission for mediclaim. Until now, there is no response or any news about it from the insurance or SAIL end. Kindly let me know if there is any way to check the status of the same via any site, phone number or anything else. Thanks a lot in advance. 🙂

  12. Dear Mr. Philip,

    Please let me know the address of the nodal office of Rourkela Steel Plant to send my mediclaim documents.
    Contact person’s name, number and mail id., if possible, would be really helpful.
    Regards,

    Sudeep

  13. I have uploaded the complete list of Resource Persons for different SAIL units and Steel Plants. Please check below the main article.

Comments are closed.